Kids and Natural Hair

Gallery

If you want your kids to have beautiful natural hair, you have to start taking care of their hair early on.  You don’t need to spend hours on your kid’s hair, you just need the right products that work for their type of hair.  This is what I have been using for my kids because they work for my kids.

  1. Tresseme Naturals Shampoo
  2. Tresseme Naturals Conditioner
  3. Pantene Nature Fusion Smoothing Creme (not cream)
  4. Argan oil
  5. A wide tooth comb
  6. Spray bottle
  7. A hair brush

In the shower, they will wash their hair twice a week by applying shampoo, then conditioner.  We tend to leave the conditioner for 5-10 minutes to allow those curls to detangle.  Once they come out of the shower I usually use a wide tooth comb to remove the knots and finally apply Argan oil for shine.  In all it takes about 30 minutes.

The day following the wash, I will either apply the smoothing creme  to allow the curls to bounce back or I will simply spray their hair with water, brush and style.

Occasionally my kids will ask to have their hair straightened, believe it or not, that’s daddy’s job! (I guess it’s a good bonding experience with daddy) but to tell you the truth I don’t have time to do that in the morning since I need to be at work for 7 o’clock.

Once in a while on a Sunday I will braid their hair for the week.  They love to have their hair braided, and I wish I could do it more often.  I will definitely try this year, now that school is about to start.

Leave a Reply

